May 30, 2024

OC Sports Zone: Community First

Woodbridge football team focuses on getting stronger for 2022 season

Coach Aaron Craver talks to his Woodbridge team after a game last season. (Photo: OC Sports Zone, Tim Burt).

Woodbridge High School’s football team has begun preparations for the 2022 season under Coach Aaron Craver.

“Summer is going well,” Craver said Thursday. “We finished strong last year, after a very slow start. We have been working in the weight room to build stronger bodies so that our team stays healthy, consistent and fit to the finish, while being exciting at the same time. 

“Our off-season attendance has brought, hope and excitement to us having a great season.”

Players expected to lead the Warriors this year are Feiamma Armstrong, Daniel Goodrich, Dereck Moore, Gannon Ostrander, Zachary Felix, Eddie Ma, Gabriel Maindi, Eddie Ahrin Casey Athas, Garret O’Neal and Sullivan and Gavin Barber, Craver said.

After a rough start last year, the Warriors finished strong and advanced to the semifinal round of the CIF Division 12 playoffs. It was the first time Woodbridge had reached the semifinals since 2017. The Warriors finished the season with a 5-8 record, losing to Quartz Hill 23-0 in the semifinals.

Woodbridge plays its home games at University High School.

2022 Schedule:

Friday, Aug. 19, at Northwood (Portola)

Thursday, Aug. 25, at Cerritos

Friday, Sept. 2, (H) vs. Esperanza

Friday, Sept. 9, (H) vs. Arcadia

Friday, Sept. 16, at Dana Hills

Friday, Sept. 23, (H) vs. Laguna Hills

Friday, Oct. 7, at Irvine

Friday, Oct. 14, Beckman at Tustin

Friday, Oct. 21, (H) vs. Portola

Friday, Oct. 28, (H) vs. University

Football coaches: This is another in a series of summer football updates. Please send information to timburt@ocsportszone.com so we can share with our readers. OC Sports Zone is a free website for Orange County and there is no charge for articles.