May 25, 2024

OC Sports Zone: Community First

Sunset Conference baseball coaches honor top players from a season that never began

Among the Laguna Beach players honored were (from left) Charlie Pillsbury, Aidan Kidd and Nolan Smith (File photo Tim Burt, OC Sports Zone)

Baseball coaches in the Sunset Conference are honoring the top players in the league who had their seasons shortened, according to Marina Coach Toby Hess.

The selections for the all-league team were made based on nonleague games, Hess said.

“The eight head baseball coaches of the Sunset Conference wanted to appropriately honor the members of our baseball teams who deserved recognition for their excellence in the 2020 abbreviated season,” Hess said in an Email Monday night.

“While no Surf or Wave League games were played….statistics, achievements, and victories were accrued by ourĀ teamsĀ in several non-league games.”


Jake Brooks, senior, P/3B/1B (Fountain Valley)

Sebastian Murillo, senior, SS (Fountain Valley)

Cole Wentz, senior, 3B/OF/P (Fountain Valley)

Noah Karliner, senior, 1B/ P (Fountain Valley)

Tito Sanchez, senior, 2B (Fountain Valley)

Jake Vogel senior, CF, (Huntington Beach)

Jag Burden senior, OF (Huntington Beach)

Joe Yost senior, IF, (Huntington Beach)

Blake Penso, junior C/1B (Huntington Beach)

Shane Stafford, junior LPH, OF (Huntington Beach)

Jared Anderson, SR, OF (Los Alamitos)

Zach Locke, SR, P (Los Alamitos)

Evan Leibl, SR, OF/C (Los Alamitos)

John Newman, SR, OF/C (Los Alamitos)

Luke Destefano, 1B, senior, (Edison)

Tyler Weaver, IF, senior, (Edison)

Dominic Laney, P, senior (Edison)

Ryan Ruiz, OF, senior, (Edison)

Zach Garber, P, senior, (Edison)


Charlie Pillsbury, senior, 2B (Laguna Beach)

Nolan Smith, senior, CF, (Laguna Beach)

Aiden Booth, senior, C, (Laguna Beach)

Aiden Kidd, senior, P-1B (Laguna Beach)

Eric Silva, junior, SS-P, (Laguna Beach)

Kieran Sidebotham, senior, SS, (CDM)

Blake Butcher, junior, third base (CDM)

Keller Strauss, junior, P/DH (CDM)

Nico DiFerdinando, junior, C/OF (CDM)

Charlie Mannon, sophomore, CF (CDM)

Jack Bibb, senior, P/OF (Newport Harbor)

Kyle Binford, senior, 2B/P (Newport Harbor)

Logan Pence, senior, P (Newport Harbor)

Braham Duncan, senior, 1B/P (Newport Harbor)

Chase Greer, senior, C/OF (Newport Harbor)

Rocco Peppi, senior, SS, (Marina)

David Mashburn, junior, C (Marina)

Lucas Iorgulesecu, junior, IF, Marina)

Trevor Lanksbury, junior, P (Marina)

Chad Lux, junior, P (Marina)