May 22, 2024

OC Sports Zone: Community First

Defending CIF champion Northwood opens at home against Woodbridge

Northwood players charge out onto the field for a game last season. (File photo: Fernando M. Donado, For OC Sports Zone).

Northwood High School’s football team will begin its summer schedule on Monday, June 20, in preparation for the season opener on Friday, Aug. 19 against Woodbridge, according to Coach J.C. Clarke.

The Timberwolves had a memorable 2021 season, winning the CIF Division 11 title under Clarke. It was Northwood’s first CIF title. The Timberwolves finished with a 9-6 record, losing to Righetti in the Southern California Regional 5A title game.

Northwood will continue summer workouts through Thursday, July 14.

The Timberwolves will have 7-on-7 games with Tustin, Trabuco Hills and Crean Lutheran, Clarke added.

The fall schedule includes four home games, two at Portola and two at Irvine Stadium.

2022 schedule:

Friday, Aug. 19, vs. Woodbridge at Portola

Friday, Aug. 26, at Kennedy

Friday, Sept. 2, at Laguna Beach

Friday, Sept. 9 vs. Vallley View at Irvine Stadium

Friday, Sept. 16, vs. Beckman at Tustin

Friday, Sept. 23, at Portola

Friday, Oct. 7, at University

Friday, Oct. 14, at Laguna Hills

Friday, Oct. 21, vs. Irvine at Portola

Friday, Oct. 28, Dana Hills at Irvine Stadium

Send football news to timburt@ocsportszone.com